Cultural Clip

Do you know this symbol?

Olimpic games logo

Of course you do, it refers to the 5 rings that stand for the 5 continents in the Olympic Games. These games are held every four years in different countries and are inspired by the ancient Olympic Games celebrated in Olympia, Greece centuries ago.

Athletes from all over the world compete to show their abilities and the best win medals: first place (gold), second place (silver) and third place (bronze).

How about the next symbols… Do you know what they stand for?

Olimpic games

Well, the three symbols refer to the Olympic Games too, but athletes can show their abilities and talents in a different and respectful way.

Paralympic Games

The first one is the symbol of the Paralympic Games, which are also international competitions with athletes from all over the world. These athletes have a disability due to an accident they suffered or because they were born that way, for example:

  • They can’t walk or they walk in a different way.
  • They can’t see well.
  • They can’t move as an average person moves.

Their physical disability is not an obstacle to show they can practice different sports and that they can be extraordinary athletes. They just need certain adaptations and equipment. The Paralympics are held every four years since 1948, right after the Olympic Games.

Note: Up to 2019 Mexico has gotten 13 gold medals, 24 medals in the history of the Olympic Games. While 97 gold medals, 90 silver medals and 102 bronze medals in the history of the Paralympic Games. Interesting, isn’t it?

Deaflympics or World Games for the Deaf

The second symbol refers to the Deaflympics or World Games for the Deaf. In these games, deaf athletes compete to show that their hearing loss is not an excuse to be the best in the ability each one has.

The games are adapted to them without the use of sounds, for example when races start, whistles are not used, instead referees wave a flag.

In these games, the audience doesn't clap or cheer, everybody moves their hands.

Special Olympic Games

The last symbol represents the Special Olympic Games for intellectual disabilities and health problems. That means that athletes with Down syndrome, Fragile X syndrome, autism, and other intellectual disabilities can participate and show their abilities to the world.

María Barbara ‘Bibi’ Wetzel

These games were founded in the 1960s and are celebrated every two years. The main objective of the Special Olympic Games is to create a world of respect and inclusion in which everybody can show their talents.

This is the oath of the Special Olympic Games:

Let me win but if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.

To know more about the Special Olympic Games, watch this video.

So, as you can see, all of us have talents and we can find the best way to show our abilities to the world. Everybody should respect differences and also celebrate the extraordinary athletes that are part of these three versions of the Olympic Games, don’t you think so?

If you want to know more about different abilities, respect and inclusion, watch the next animated short movies: